DIDIER DROGBA fires Chelsea into the final

Didier Drogba

DIDIER DROGBA couldn’t hide his delight after firing Chelsea to the Champions League final — and ramming the words of Rafa Benitez down his throat.

The Liverpool boss had dubbed the Blues striker a diver in the build-up to the semi-final second leg.

But after scoring twice in the 4-3 aggregate win, Drogba had the last laugh.

He said: “It is something amazing. Today we did very well. I am really pleased for the club because we’ve been looking for this final for too long.

“Benitez is a fantastic coach and I was a bit disappointed but I think he felt his team was not strong enough and Chelsea were going to beat them.

I am just happy for my team and I don’t want to think about others.

“It’s not good for my image. I’m giving my best to put my team at the top and I think it’s not fair but it’s finished.”

Blues captain John Terry praised the efforts of the team, with Frank Lampard signled out after playing so soon after the death of his mother last week.

He added: “It’s fantastic, I think we’ve fully deserved it over the years, we’ve had our chance but I thought we made it hard for ourselves at the end.

“It has not sunk in properly. We’ll enjoy tonight but it will take 24 hours to sink in.

“What a character Lamps is. It has been a terrible week for him. I’m sure Frank will dedicate that goal to his mum.”

