Leena becomes first Pakistani women cricket commentator

Sports Reporter

LAHORE: Leena Moin Aziz is the first woman international commentator in Pakistan who is committed to continue her cricket commentary as a profession in future. Leena started cricket commentary almost five years back, for the PTV on the Pakistan-A versus Sri Lanka-A match and became famous in the fraternity of cricket circles. After that she had a brief commentary stint for Ten Sports at Rawalpindi when Bangladesh toured Pakistan in 2003. But then the people with obvious vested interests discouraged her.

Leena didn’t lose hopes and continued to struggle to find a regular place in the field of commentary because of various reasons. “I was of the opinion that as a woman commentator I should have been encouraged but I was badly mistaken as I was discouraged at every level,” she said. Leena is thankful of Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation for her come back in the commentary field. “I am thankful to Director General Javed Iqbal and Deputy Controller Syed Tariq Ayub for giving me the chance to show my ability and talent. I hope this break would be a benchmark for me to carve my name in the list of regular commentators”, she added. Leena developed cricket passion at the age of six years when she would play cricket with her male cousins. Later she skippered her college team and ignited the fire of cricket in many young women. She is committed to work as a cricket commentator and analyst and has refused many lucrative job offers. She has written a number of articles on cricket for various English newspapers. “Cricket is my first love and passion and I understand the technicalities of the games as well. I only need meritorious backing”, Leena concluded.

